Revelation 16: Seven Bowls of God’s Wrath Poured Out

Reposted from Pr. Wolfmueller:

(21 verses, 3:20 to read)


What I am about to READ

  • The seven bowls of God’s wrath are poured out on the earth.


Here is the detailed outline of the chapter

  • 1, God calls the angels to pour out the bowls of His wrath
  • 2, Bowl 1 poured on the earth, and sores come on animals and people with the mark of the beast
  • 3, Bowl 2 poured on the sea, which turns to blood
  • 4, Bowl 3 poured on the rivers, which turn to blood
  • 5-7, Interlude of praise to the Lord who is avenging the blood of the saints
  • 8-9, Bowl 4 poured on the sun, and fire scorches men
  • 10-11, Bowl 5 poured on the throne of the beast, which afflicts his kingdom
  • 12-16, Bowl 6 poured on the Euphrates River, which dries up as a prelude to the last battle
    • 15, Interlude, Jesus reminds us that He is coming
  • 17-21, Bowl 7 poured into the air, and all the signs of the last day are accomplished


  • This chapter gives us an exploded view of God’s wrath and anger, which will be poured out on the unbelieving world. The wicked will not rule forever, and the goats will eventually be culled from the sheep. This chapter reminds us of the Lord’s wrath, and we who are marked with the Lord’s name, rejoice that this wrath is not for us. We are hidden in Christ, and have escaped the trouble that is to come. God be praised!

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Post below, or join the conversation in our Facebook group:
-Pastor Bryan Wolfmueller


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s