Psalm 89—The Lord Answers! Blessed Be the Lord!

(52 verses, 5:35 to read)

LISTEN & READ

What I am about to READ

The faithfulness and mercy of the Lord are insisted upon despite the state of the world, the reality of sin, or the assaults of the Devil. In this, He is proven true.

MARK

A preface stating the fact of the steadfast love of the Lord (1-4)

The might of God as known from creation is a picture of His might in punishing and forgiving (5-37)

The seeming disregard of the Lord for His own (38-45)

Putting God to the question — God answers! (46-52)

LEARN

God’s faithfulness is part and parcel with His very nature. He cannot but be faithful to the promises He makes. God cannot lie. The believer rests secure in this fact, and finds great comfort in it for it is what his salvation is founded upon. This reality remains true even as the world, the flesh, and the devil rage against it. It is difficult to bear to the point that the believer cries out,

How long, O LORD? Will you hide yourself forever?

How long will your wrath burn like fire?

For His name’s sake, the Lord remembers His promises and has mercy so that the Psalm ends, “Blessed be the Lord forever! Amen and amen!”

MEDITATE

We’re reminded of St. Paul’s lament in Romans chapter 7, which is, in a way, a fine prayer and great comfort:

So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand. For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being, but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! (Romans 7:21-25)

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Post below, or join the conversation in our Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/dailybiblemeditation/

– Pastor Weslie Odom

Leave a Reply

