Psalm 86: Great is Your Steadfast Love

READ and LISTEN

(17 verses, 2:00 to read)

What I am about to READ

  • Psalm 86 is a psalm of David which asks for deliverance from enemies, appealing to the nature of God who saves.

MARK and LEARN

  • preserve my life, for I am Godly – This is not an appeal to personal righteousness but a confession that God has worked salvation for him in the past. Later in the psalm (v. 13) David confesses that God has already delivered up his soul from Sheol.
  • For you, O Lord, are good and forgiving, abounding in steadfast love – God is primarily known as he who forgives transgression, something which David knew well from past experience.
  • All nations…shall come and worship – The promise that in the seed of Abraham all the nations would be blessed is confessed here by David. The Gentiles would also worship the one true God of Israel in the person of Jesus Christ.
  • Teach me your way…that I may walk in your truth – All good and perfect gifts come from God and has no origin in man and his thoughts and reason. David implores that God would reveal his ways to him, not that he would discover them through meditation or reason.

MEDITATE

Lord God, I am a sinner. O Lord be gracious to me, for I cry unto you. You would have me come to you with my sins of thought, word, and deed. You want me to cry unto you for you do not grow weary of forgiving your children. Therefore I appeal to you, forgive me my sins and turn to me a Father’s heart, as you forgave David who put his trust in you. Do this for the sake of your Son, our Lord Jesus Christ. Amen

Pax,
Pr. Brandon Ross

Leave a Reply

