Ezekiel 6: The Word Comes So that they Might Know He is Lord

(14 verses, 1:10 to read)

LISTEN & READ

MARK & LEARN

  • 1-7: Both the worshipers and that which they worshiped is threatened to be destroyed.  A couple of notes on this section
    • “The Word of the Lord came to me” – Notice your Bible doesn’t have “Word” capitalized.  Should it be?  Quite simply, this phrase that occurs so many in Ezekiel emphasizes the message Ezekiel has to preach is from God Himself.  It’s possible, though, that this Word is also in fact THE WORD, the One who would become flesh and dwell among us, the very Word who was in beginning (John 1:1-14).  We know that The Word is a Person of the Holy Trinity.  In other words, Ezekiel could be saying, “The Son of God came to me and told me to preach this.”
    • “7 …and you shall know that I am the Lord.”  This phrase occurs 4 times in our text, one of those times being a bit variant.  What is emphasized is the Lord reveals Himself through His Word, both of threat and promise.

MEDITATE

  • O Word made flesh, You come to me in Your preached and written Word right now.  Strengthen my faith to know that You are Lord, the name above all names, the One Whom every knee shall bow to.  Blessed are You who comes in the Name of the Lord, humble, riding on a donkey, to the city where You will receive in Yourself the very threats You proclaimed on my sins so that You might still come to me with Your word of promise, too.

MARK & LEARN

  • 8-10: A reprieve from the threats for the sake of the “some.”  This section helps us answer, “What final purpose does God desire to have in proclaiming to me that I should ‘know He is Lord’ in the midst of judgment?”  Answer: “Remember Him,” He is “broken over my whoring heart that has departed from Him and my eyes that go whoring after idols,” and that I “be loathsome in my own sight for the evils I have committed.”
    • The Lord desires that all escape the punishment and remember Him and His mercy.  Even if they are carried off, their life will be spared.  Judgment and mercy are both seen clearly.

MEDITATE

  • “Lord, remember me when You come into Your kingdom.  I’m a broken and contrite sinner who sometimes begins to recognize what I deserve.  Grant that as I receive Your body and blood, I remember You, confess the forgiveness of my sins, and proclaim Your death until You come again.

MARK & LEARN

  • 11-14: The Lord threatens through 3 means: 1.) Pestilence, 2.) Sword, and 3.) Famine.
    • Note again the Lord’s threats are not just for the idolaters but idols themselves.  “Their slain lie among their idols around their altars.”  In other words, this “god,” the one I worshiped on this altar, did not save me from the judgment of the true God.

MEDITATE

  • Lord, help me to fear You above all things.  Amen
Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Post below, or join the conversation in our Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/dailybiblemeditation/ or if reading on facebook, check out the blog: https://rightlydividedbible.wordpress.com/
Christopher Stout, Pastor of Mount Calvary Lutheran Church, Kannapolis, NC & Abundant Life Lutheran Church, Charlotte, NC

 

Leave a Reply

