Daniel 12: The Resurrection of the Dead and the Life of the World to Come

(13 verses, 1:02 to read)

LISTEN & READ

MARK & LEARN

  • 1-4: A wonderful Old Testament picture of the resurrection of all the dead and the everlasting life of the world to come.  After a time of trouble will come the end.
    • Note the word for death that is used: sleep.  As you may assume when you sleep you will wake up, so also when the Christian dies, they confess they will also arise to everlasting life, shining like the brightness of the sky above.
    • Note also that the resurrection is promised to all, those that are here called “wise” and also those who are promised “everlasting contempt.”
  •  5-9: Daniel hears two angels speaking and he asks when all this will take place.  The answer is “a time, times, and half a time.”  Perhaps this emphasizes the rule of anti-Christ is always opposed to God (3.5 is half of 7).  Perhaps in emphasizes that it will seem to last a long time, but will finally end.  Perhaps it’s propesying that Antiochus IV will desecrate the temple for about 3 years.
    • What’s really interesting is that Daniel himself is not satisfied with the answer.  “I heard, but I did not understand. Then I said, “O my lord, what shall be the outcome of these things?”  The advice for him is the same advice for us, “He said, “Go your way, Daniel, for the words are shut up and sealed until the time of the end.”
  • 10-13: This has a beautiful picture of suffering and persecuting: that of being purified and refined.  In the midst of suffering and persecution, the Christian is called to “wait” (vs. 11) for God to reveal Himself in the final Day.

MEDITATE

  • Lord Jesus, You promise that “everyone whose name shall be found written in the book” will be delivered, awake, are promised everlasting life and shine like the brightness of sky above.  How shall I know if my name is there?  You reveal later that this book is Titled: “the book of life of the Lamb who was slain” (Revelation 13:8).  This points my heart You, the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world, and not within, to hear the answer.  Assured of Your love and promises, for You baptized me, You promised me there is no condemnation for me, You gave me Your blood to drink for the forgiveness of my sins, and You are faithful and don’t lie, help me to wait and “go my way,” not speculating about the day or hour of Your Second Coming, not speculating about my election, but being confident of the Call I have received in Your Word and praying, giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified me to share in the inheritance of the saints in light” (Colossians 1:12), and serving the neighbors You have given me.
Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Post below, or join the conversation in our Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/dailybiblemeditation/ or if reading on facebook, check out the blog: https://rightlydividedbible.wordpress.com/
Christopher Stout, Pastor of Mount Calvary Lutheran Church, Kannapolis, NC & Abundant Life Lutheran Church, Charlotte, NC
Leave a Reply

