Psalm 65—God Delivers Those Who Trust in Him

(13 verses, 1:15 to read)

LISTEN & READ

What I am about to READ

  • A Psalm of David for the praise of God’s spiritual blessings and temporal provisions.

MARK

  • The child of God, Whom He has graciously brought into the courts of His Temple, is content with the great blessings, primarily the gift of atonement for sin. (1-4)

  • The Lord answers the cries of His people through the promise of His Word and mighty acts. (5-8)

  • God provides in abundance for the needs of this world. (9-13)

LEARN

  • Luther’s explanation of the 1st Article of the Apostles’ Creed mimics the pattern of this Psalm in that God creates and calls His own out of His goodness and mercy alone, and those called respond in contented obedience, thanksgiving, and praise:

    I believe in God the Father Almighty, Maker of heaven and earth.

    What does this mean?–Answer.

    I believe that God has made me and all creatures; that He has given me my body and soul, eyes, ears, and all my limbs, my reason, and all my senses, and still preserves them; in addition thereto, clothing and shoes, meat and drink, house and homestead, wife and children, fields, cattle, and all my goods; that He provides me richly and daily with all that I need to support this body and life, protects me from all danger, and guards me and preserves me from all evil; and all this out of pure, fatherly, divine goodness and mercy, without any merit or worthiness in me; for all which I owe it to Him to thank, praise, serve, and obey Him. This is most certainly true.

INWARDLY DIGEST

  • Let us pray: “Dear Father of All Mercies, in your goodness and mercy you have called us out of the darkness and shadow of death, and brought us into the glories of your Holy Temple. You also provide all we need in this life. Grant us contentment in all the temporal goods you have given us, and always bring to our remembrance the immeasurable wealth that is ours in the forgiveness of our sin, through Jesus Christ, your Son, our Lord. Amen.”

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Post below, or join the conversation in our Facebook group.

-Pastor Weslie Odom

Leave a Reply

