Luke 5: Jesus Preaches From a Floating Pulpit, Teaches and Heals

(39 verses, 3:53 to read)
What I am about to READ and MARK
  • Outline:
    • Jesus calls Peter (1-11).
    • Jesus wills to make men clean (12-16).
    • Jesus forgives sin (17-26).
    • Jesus comes for sinners (27-32).
    • In Jesus’ presence the Church feasts on the Gospel (33-39).
LEARN
  • 5-11: Toil without visible results can produce frustration and despair.  Despair should be the response of all Christians, especially pastors, if God had not promised that He will do the work of catching.  We are too sinful to be trusted with this work alone.  Failure and sin in this duty alone would cause every Christian to not even desire to be God’s presence because of fear and shame.  But Jesus assures us that He will do the work of not losing one that is His own, that He is the Good Shepherd who seeks the one lost sheep, and that He reigns for the good of His Church.  Jesus, to be sure, does this through instituting the Office of the Ministry and the Church.  Praise God for that.  Do not despair.  In Christ, your work is never in vain.
MEDITATE
  • Lord Jesus, I pray this in part because of your example for You often withdrew to pray (16).  I draw near to You, however, even more because of Your invitation.  You invite the sinner, You invite those sick in body and soul (31-32), and You invite those tempted to despair because they too often do not see visible results of the preaching and teaching of Your Word.  I confess that my sinful flesh desires to push you away and say, “Depart from me, for I am a sinful man, O Lord (8).”  Forgive me and help me listen more to Your call (32) and promises than my weak flesh.  You will for me to be clean (13) so I am clean from my sins.  You are my Great Physician so I am healed from my infirmities (31).  Help me not to grumble against others in their sin (30). Help me, dear bridegroom of Your Church, to see the times to rejoice and fast in life (33-35).
 Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Post below, or join the conversation in our Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/dailybiblemeditation/ or if reading on facebook, check out the blog: https://rightlydividedbible.wordpress.com/
Christopher Stout, Pastor of Mount Calvary Lutheran Church, Kannapolis, NC & Abundant Life Lutheran Church, Charlotte, NC
Leave a Reply

