Psalm 107: The Truth of the Love of the Lord

(45 verses, 2:05 to read)

LISTEN & READ

What I am about to READ

The Psalmist treats of the certain reality of the steadfast love of the Lord even in the face of the woes of this world.

MARK

The concrete reality of the steadfast love of the Lord for all mankind… (1-9)

…For those captive to the fear of death (10-16)

…For those who foolishly persist in sin (17-22)

…For those cast about by the cares of the world (23-38)

…For those suffering unjustly (39-43)

LEARN

The overwhelmingly powerful constant refrain in this Psalm is the present truth of the love of the Lord, and its promised continuance. In the midst of desert wastes, in the midst of the darkness and shadow of death, despite foolishly sinful ways, the steadfast love of the Lord is a constant reality for those who cry out to the Lord in their trouble. In Christ, the one who trusts in the Lord is freed, delivered, forgiven, loved, and kept in the true faith through the promise of this word. This causes the believer to cry out in thanksgiving to the one who never leaves or forsakes His own.

MEDITATE

We are reminded of the hymn, “I Walk In Danger All The Way”, which is worthy of meditation:

I walk in danger all the way.

The thought shall never leave me

That Satan, who has marked his prey,

Is plotting to deceive me.

This foe with hidden snares

May seize me unawares

If I should fail to watch and pray.

I walk in danger all the way.

I pass through trials all the way,

With sin and ills contending;

In patience I must bear each day

The cross of God’s own sending.

When in adversity

I know not where to flee,

When storms of woe my soul dismay,

I pass through trials all the way.

And death pursues me all the way,

Nowhere I rest securely;

He comes by night, he comes by day,

He takes his prey most surely.

A failing breath, and I

In death’s strong grasp may lie

To face eternity today

As death pursues me all the way.

I walk with angels all the way,

They shield me and befriend me;

All Satan’s pow’r is held at bay

When heavenly hosts attend me;

They are my sure defense,

All fear and sorrow, hence!

Unharmed by foes, do what they may,

I walk with angels all the way.

I walk with Jesus all the way,

His guidance never fails me;

Within His wounds I find a stay

When Satan’s pow’r assails me;

And by His footsteps led,

My path I safely tread.

No evil leads my soul astray;

I walk with Jesus all the way.

My walk is heavenward all the way;

Await, my soul, the morrow,

When God’s good healing shall allay

All suff’ring, sin, and sorrow.

Then, worldly pomp, be gone!

To heav’n I now press on.

For all the world I would not stay;

My walk is heavenward all the way.

LSB 716

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Post below, or join the conversation in our Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/dailybiblemeditation/

– Pastor Weslie Odom

Leave a Reply

