Isaiah 61: The Spirit of the Lord is Upon Jesus

(11 verses, 1:04 to read)

LISTEN & READ

What I am about to  READ

  • The Servant of Isaiah, the same “by His stripes we are healed” servant of Isaiah speaks here of receiving the Holy Spirit, preaching and releasing

MARK & LEARN

  • 1-4: Christ (the Servant of the Lord from previous readings, especially 52:13-53) according to His human nature will receive the Holy Spirit.  His Spirit-filled Words will bring peace, freedom, joy, comfort, etc.  The reversals in this section are quite wonderful.  Ask: Where would I be without Christ’s Spirit filled Words?
  • 5-6a: Through the Gospel, those previously outside the Church will be brought into the Church and God will work through them.
  • 6b: The Church and Her work will be supported by wealth from many nations since the Gospel is preached to all nations.  Faith receives the Lord’s Word.  This changes the heart and thus the way we think about money, too.
  • 7: Some of the promises in 1-3 are further applied to all nations here.
  • 8-9: Here’s a reminder that the promises will come true because it is the Lord who is doing the promising.  His promises here are everlasting promises.
  • 10-11: The doctrine of justification is clearly and beautifully expressed here.  The speaker changes and receives the clothing and garment of righteousness.

MEDITATE

  •  61 The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me,    because the Lord has anointed me
    to bring good news to the poor;
    he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
    to proclaim liberty to the captives,
    and the opening of the prison to those who are bound;

    Lord Jesus, I confess the poverty of my works.  I admit the brokenness of my heart.  I acknowledge how bound I am in my sin.  Thank you for coming to fulfill the works of God that were demanded of me and then receiving the wrath my sinful heart deserved.  Through Your Word and Spirit, continue to bring me and all my friends and family the Gospel and the freedom and comfort  it brings with it.  Help me to live in this freedom which binds me to You in faith and to my neighbor in love.

 Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Post below, or join the conversation in our Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/dailybiblemeditation/ or if reading on facebook, check out the blog: https://rightlydividedbible.wordpress.com/
Christopher Stout, Pastor of Mount Calvary Lutheran Church, Kannapolis, NC & Abundant Life Lutheran Church, Charlotte, NC
Leave a Reply

