2 Timothy 4: Preach the Word

Re-posted from Pr. Stout (22 verses, 2:01 to read)

READ & LISTEN

What I am about to READ 

  • Preach the Word, in season and out of season.

MARK & LEARN

  • Paul called Timothy to “preach the word.”  That is to say, don’t preach your word and don’t preach their word, but preach the Word of Jesus Christ who is to judge the living and the dead.  Every pastor and every Christian is tempted to preach a word that suits the ears of their hearers.  No one likes to be judged or called names.  Everyone likes to be popular and wanted after.  If people will look for teachers and preachers to give them a word they want, they will find many willing participants.  The call for the Christian, and especially the Christian pastor, is to not participate in these idle myths and feed their passions, but preach the word,  to “reprove, rebuke, and exhort, with complete patience and teaching.”  The Judge is not the hearer who gets what they want, but Christ Jesus.
  • As many in this world turn away from this Word, it is tempting to panic.  However, panic is the opposite of the “sober-minded” confidence in the confession that Jesus is Lord and that He loves His Church and is the righteous Judge who will give His Christians the crown of righteousness.  Panic happens when we, like Demas, fall “in love with this present world.”   Panic happens when we think we have to avenge ourselves rather than confess of our enemies that ” the Lord will repay him according to his deeds” and “the Lord will rescue me from every evil deed and bring me safely into his heavenly kingdom.”  Panic happens when we think we are left alone.  Paul, however, confesses  “the Lord stood by me and strengthened me, so that through me the message might be fully proclaimed and all the Gentiles might hear it.”

MEDITATE

  • Lord, I pray for my pastor and pastors.  Strengthen and stand by them.  Preach Your Word through their lips and for my peace.  Help me to receive this Word and not a word that suits my own passions and leads me to fall in love with this present world.  Help me confess this Word to my neighbors in patience and teaching and look forward to Your appearance where You will give me the crown of righteousness which is mine through the death of Jesus.
Leave a Reply

