Isaiah 1: Listen to Your Father, He Desires to Cover Your Crimson Stains

(31 verses, 3:40 to read)
What I am about to READ
  • Listen to Your Father, He Desires to Cover Your Crimson Stains
MARK & LEARN
  • 1: Isaiah’s introduction gives the time of his vision.  Notice Isaiah isn’t arranged chronologically as the actual vision doesn’t come until chapter 6.
  • 2-17: A series of images and Torah illusions are used to rebuke Israel.  Here’s a summary:
    • 2-3: You no longer know your own Father and Creator
    • 4: Because of that, you have now become children of the Evil One.
    • 5-6: Not just one part of your nation is sick, but the whole nation!  Individual sin never stays isolated.  Collective sin affects the individual.
    • 7-8: God will give you up to your enemies and you will see the things you put your hope and trust in offered false security.
    • 9-10: You were almost like Sodom and Gomorrah in that you were almost completely destroyed.  Repent before you become just like them!
    • 11-17: Your offer sacrifices and feasts, but your heart is far from me.
  • 18-20: A beautiful promise of the Gospel: 18 “Come now, let us reason together, says the Lord: though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow;
    though they are red like crimson, they shall become like wool.” Then comes a promise of the Law in vs. 20, “if you refuse….”
  • 21-31: Israel’s injustice is described.  Greed reigns through bribery.  Judges are corrupt.  Those guilty for murder get off scott free.
    • Vs. 27 comes the promise of the Gospel.  The Lord desires to redeem.
MEDITATE
  •   After lining up all the evidence of guilt, the Lord summons Israel to court and says in vs. 18 something like, “I have a better idea.  Let me wash you, declare you holy and righteous, take away all your stains and cover you with my purity, and then change your heart so that you have a new desire to be willing and obedient to the One who created you, loves you, provides for you, and redeems you.”
  • Pray: “Lord Jesus, I am baptized.  I am a child of God, of freedom, and of life eternal because of this gift.  Yet, I too often exchange my baptismal promises for the promises of the Evil One, desiring the will of my flesh, which is slavery and death, hurts myself and hurts others, and deny Your Father as my Father.  Help me to see that this is what I do when I sin against Your will.  Because You have died and shed your crimson blood for me, You have promised the stains of my intentional and unintentional sins, which I cannot remove myself, have been washed, and I am seen pure and holy, as white as wool and snow before Your Father.  Strength my faith in Your promises and help me, my family, and my country to live by Your just will toward all.”  Amen
 Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Post below, or join the conversation in our Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/dailybiblemeditation/ or if reading on facebook, check out the blog: https://rightlydividedbible.wordpress.com/
Christopher Stout, Pastor of Mount Calvary Lutheran Church, Kannapolis, NC & Abundant Life Lutheran Church, Charlotte, NC
Leave a Reply

